Today I decided to try a recipe that I came across on  the very addicting website www.pinterest.com. These No-Bake Energy Bites sounded like just the thing I needed, sweet without the calories. Who doesn’t want that, right? I went to my nearest Capers aka Whole Foods Market to get the ingredients that I needed. After my shopping experience in Trader Joe’s on the weekend and seeing what great prices the lucky Americans get on organic food I was totally let down by what Capers Market had to offer.  I needed to get a bottle of vanilla extract, which was going for $1.99 a bottle at Trader Joe’s, the price of vanilla extract at the Canadian equivalent of Trader Joe’s? $7.99 a bottle! That’s craziness, why do Canadian always have to pay so much more for everything? Capers Market was a complete let down as they had such a small bulk food section and not the right prices. So I picked up  a few things from there and headed over to the trusty ol’ Great Canadian Superstore where I found vanilla extract for $2.99 a bottle, plus I picked up an awesomes weater from their Joe Fresh label (love that I can grocery shop and get new clothes and makeup and the same time!). Once I finally had all the ingredients I needed I headed home to make the bites. They are very simple to make, hardly take any time and don’t make much of a mess either. I will definitely be making these again. The recipe below yields about 10 bites which just is the perfect amount you can eat before getting sick of them. This is my adaptation of the Pinterest recipe.


Ingredients:

1 cup Oatmeal

1/2 cup creamy salted peanut butter (or another nut butter of your choice)

1/3 cup honey

1/2 cup sweetened coconut flakes

1/2 ground of whole flax-seed

1/2 milk chocolate chips

1tbsp vanilla

Directions:

Mix all above ingredients in bowl until throughly incorporated. Let chill in fridge for half an hour. Once chilled, roll into medium-sized balls and enjoy. Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated. Lasts up to one week.

