I have been hearing for months from friends that Trader Joe’s grocery store in the states is amazing. Anyone I know who goes over for cross-border shopping has been telling me that it’s like a Whole Foods Market except a lot less expensice. I finally had a chance to go this weekend to the Bellingham location on a shopping trip with a friend of mine. The parking lot was a nightmare (probably because of the upcoming American Thanksgiving) and the store was ridiculously busy but I managed to fanagle my way down the aisles and bought some ‘border friendly crossing” food. I couldn’t belive how good the prices were. Another great thing about the Trader Joe’s label is that they promise NO trans-fats, No MSG, No genetically modified ingredients and NO artificial flavors, colors or preservatives. I wanted to buy wanted to bring home the whole store. The stores itself was on the smaller side but still managed to have everything one would need. The employees are all very friendly and were  decked out in funky Hawaiian shirts & handing out yummy samples.  Here’s a few of the items I picked up at Trader Joe’s this weekend.

Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s – I assume that these cookie are only for the holiday season so get them while you can. These are basically oreos with REAL pieces of candy cane in the icing.  Why hasn’t oreo thought of this sooner? A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Great little treat with a cup of tea on a cold winter night. Even better, the box is huge and comes with three rows of cookies.

Pink Himalayan Sea Salt  – Himalayan salt has many benefits. It is full of minerals such as potassium, iron and magnesium. It can stimulate circulation and helps remove toxins. Not to mention it’s much for flavourful than regular table salt. The Trader Joe’s version comes with a built-in grinder and is only $1.99 a bottle.

Organic Peanut Butter –  I’m a huge fan of peanut butter, I like mine soft, salted and creamy. If it’s organic even better. This peanut butter covers all those bases and comes at the right price as well. I’ll be picking this up again next time I’m at Trader Joe’s.

Organic Sugar – This sugar from the Trader Joe’s label is organic and reasonably priced. It comes from evaporated cane sugar and is very flavourful. With zero of polyunsaturated, trans, monosaturated fats per 2 tablespoons that is pretty darn good in my books.

Split Pea Soup – Mmmmmm thick and creamy  split pea soup, what could be better on a gloomy cold day? This soup is not only tasty but it’s inexpensive as well, only $1.99 a can. It’s seasoned with sea salt, cracked pepper, basil. Perfect for celiacs as well or those with lactose intolerance as  it is gluten-free.

I will definitely be stopping at Trader Joe’s next time I do a south of the border shopping trip and I can’t wait to see what I’ll discover on my next venture into  Joe’s world. For those American readers lucky enough to live near a Trader Joe’s I would love to know some of your favourite products found at Trader Joe’s?

