Earlier this summer my boyfriend and I finally got around to checking out Blasted Church winery in the Penticton area. I’ve always been a fan of their cartoon like labeling and heard a lot good things about the wine but never been to the winery itself.  I used to pass their sign everyday when I rented an awesome lakeside house with my friends on Skaha Lake; so I was due for a visit. So on a sun-shiny Okanagan summer day we decided to check out the winery. It is such a picturesque site, and the view was so much more than I expected. The first thing we saw when we arrived at the winery site was this. Nothing short of beautiful right? The beauty didn’t stop outside, it continued right into the bottle. Now, I’ve done my  fair share of wine tasting. From silly nights with my best friend in highschool discovering  the parents wine collection, to working at various wineries on the Naramata bench hosting tastings and tours, to having dinners and tasting alongside Harry McWatters the founder of Sumac Ridge Estate Winery.  So, at the risk of sounding completely pretentious; I like to think I know my way around a good bottle of vino.  What we found at Blasted Church was some of the best tasting I have tried all season. We couldn’t leave without walking away with a bottle of their  ‘2008 Nothing Sacred Meritage’. 

It’s a Bordeaux style blend of

Merlot 50%

Cabernet Sauvignon 40%

Malbec 5%

Petit Verdot 5%

With a cedar smoked, cassis bouquet and a heavy yet smooth earthy toned flavour I couldn’t resist this god like nectar. We had to get it! Even though it’s a bit pricer at $40 per bottle it’s worth the indulgence. If you only  get one bottle this season then this is the one.  To date there are only 5 cases left so get yours in a jiffy. I’m going to let mine age for a few more months and then possibly pull it out to celebrate our anniversary. What better way to celebrate than with a great bottle of  red and an even better boyfriend?

