I’ve been reading rave reviews on homemade kale chips on various foodie websites for quite a while. Although I’m aware of their massive nutrient benefits they didn’t have the mouth-watering appeal that a bag of ketchup chips brings to me so I put off of trying the recipe. Alas, I finally caved after finding out how simple they are to make after watching a very informative YouTube video! I could not believe how crunchy and tasty those little green leafs turned out to be.  Now, I’m a kale-chip-a-holic, they are great for healthy snacks for yourself and your family. They can be as simple as just oil and salt or you can get creative and add parmesan cheese or paprika. If it’s that chip flavour  that you’re looking for you can sprinkle on flavoured popcorn seasonings such as dill pickle or ketchup. The fun part is experimenting yourself of what toppings you like best, just make sure you keep them light. Also to be noted is that kale chips cannot be kept in Tupperware as they will get limp and soggy…I learned that the hard way. They are best to be eaten right away or stored on a pan or plate underneath a tea towel.

Here is a link to the video that I watched from “Kath Eats”

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
 Directions
  1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt.
  3. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes.
