If you’re anything like me you might find yourself more often than not, after a long days work not up for cooking a huge dinner everyday. So, instead of popping  a lean cuisine into the microwave I decided to freeze my own home cooked food and see how much I can cram into my little freezer. I’ve been searching for recipes and meal ideas that can be easily portioned, will still taste alright after being exposed to freezing temperature and are as healthy as a frozen dinner can be. A friend of mine suggested I try making chili. I’ve come up with a great recipe that is the perfect combination of healthy and hearty. Its an excellent source of iron from the meat and beans and you also get your fair share of vitamins from the tomatoes and peppers. The spices also work as an immune booster. I was a bit nervous as it was my first time making homemade chili but think it turned great! The photo is from my cell phone so the quality isn’t the best but you get the idea.

Here’s my recipe for  Hearty/Healthy Chili

Make approx 15 bowls of chili

1 lb lean ground beef

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large white onion chopped

1 green pepper, seeded and chopped

1 red pepper, seeded and chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp ground cumin

2 1/2 tbsp cayenne

1 1/12 tbsp paprika

1 tsp dried parsley

2 cans of unsalted diced tomatoes un-drained

2 cans of red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 tbsp salt

2 bay leaves

In a large frying pan brown meat, oil and onions. Once meat is fully cooked transfer to large pot, add peppers and spices and  all other remaining ingredients. Let simmer and stir for about 20 minutes. Remember the long it sits the more flavour comes out. Remove one bay leaf , add salt and pepper to taste. This meal is easy to freeze and can be frozen in individual portions or family size. Add a dollop of sour cream and grated cheddar cheese on top of individual serving and enjoy!

